Eighteen egg farmers from across the country join returning members to lead national egg marketing checkoff program to drive demand for eggs and egg products

(CHICAGO) March 17, 2021  Nine newly appointed members and nine alternates representing egg farmers across the country were officially installed at today’s annual meeting of the American Egg Board, starting their service on behalf of America’s egg farmers and the entire egg industry.

Appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture earlier this year, the appointees will serve two-year terms ending March 2023. The American Egg Board is comprised of 18 members and 18 alternates and represents the interests of all U.S. egg farmers. Appointments originate through a nominating process from three geographic areas across the United States and reflect the national composition of AEB membership.

“The leadership, guidance and active participation of our nation’s egg farmers are crucial to fulfilling the American Egg Board’s mission to drive demand for eggs and egg products, and I am eager to work with our new board appointees from across the country as we implement our ambitious new five-year strategic plan,” said Emily Metz, president and CEO of the American Egg Board. “As our newly appointed members and alternates took their oath of office this afternoon, I was again struck by the dedication and commitment of these hard-working men and women to further America’s egg industry on behalf of all egg farmers.”

Newly appointed American Egg Board members and alternates are:

East States

  • Lake Wagner, Abingdon, Virginia, member
  • Keith H. Berry, Silverstreet, South Carolina, alternate member
  • Chris Esbenshade, Lititz, Pennsylvania, member
  • Khalee Kreider, Manheim, Pennsylvania, alternate member
  • Gijs Schimmel, Lexington, Georgia, member
  • Elliot Gibber, New York, New York, alternate member

Central States

  • Mindy Creighton Truex, Warsaw, Indiana, member
  • Sean Delano, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, alternate member
  • Jeffrey Cutler, Columbus, Indiana, member
  • Ted Greidanus, Centerton, Arkansas, alternate member
  • Robert Gornichec, Centerburg, Ohio, member
  • Ben Thompson, Pearl City, Illinois, alternate member
  • Tim Vande Bunte, Holland, Michigan, member
  • Thomas Edward Hertzfeld III, Whitehouse, Ohio, alternate member

West States

  • Anthony Demler, Ramona, California, member
  • Tracy Ramsdell, Flandreau, South Dakota, alternate member
  • Bruce L. Dooyema, Sioux Center, Louisiana, member
  • Terry L. Baker, Wakefield, Nebraska, alternate member

And, with appreciation and thanks for their service, those members and alternates rotating off included:

  • Stephen Herbruck, Saranac, Michigan, member
  • Evan Lathem, Pendergrass, Georgia, alternate
  • Jason Ramsdell, Flandreau, South Dakota, alternate